



NHMRC e-ASIA 2023 Joint Research Program applications recommended for funding commencing in 2024

About the Scheme

The NHMRC e-ASIA Joint Research Program (JRP) supports Australian participation and partnership in international collaborative research through the e-ASIA Joint Research Program. The e-ASIA Joint Research Program supports international joint research projects in the East Asia region on a multilateral basis and promotes the interaction of researchers through scientific workshops. Fields of cooperation are decided among the e-ASIA participating member organisations and funding is for up to three years.

International collaborative research projects are selected through an open call for proposals. The field of cooperation for this funding call was Climate Change and Health. Applications must be supported by a minimum of three member organisations to be successful.

The applications listed in the table below have been approved by the Minister for Health and Aged Care, the Hon. Mark Butler MP for funding to commence in 2024. They are listed in application identification number (App ID) order.

App ID	Chief Investigator Name(s)	Application Title	Administering Institution	Budget
2026175	CIA - Professor Diana Hansen CIB - Associate Professor Danielle Stanisic CIC - Professor Michael Good	Uncovering the burden of asymptomatic malaria: dissecting immune responses to infection to overcome immunosuppression and improve	Monash University	\$749,917.65
	CID – Professor Wei Shi CIE – Doctor Rory Bowden	vaccination strategies		

2026359	CIA - Professor Sotiris Vardoulakis	Climate change adaptation to smoke haze for	Australian National	\$746,793.00
	CIB – Professor Fay Johnston	improved child health in Southeast Asia	University	
	CIC – Associate Professor Geoffrey Morgan			
	CID - Professor Bin Jalaludin			
	CIE – Doctor Ivan Hanigan			
	CIF - Associate Professor Luke Knibbs			
	CIG - Doctor Amanda Wheeler			
	CIH - Professor Gavin Pereira			
	CII - Doctor Richard Broome			
	CIJ - Doctor Penelope Jones			
2026447	CIA – Doctor Catherine Gordon	Eliminating S. mekongi - the final push	The Council of the	\$749,978.20
	CIB - Professor Darren Gray		Queensland Institute of	
	CIC - Professor Archie Clements		Medical Research	
	CID – Doctor Kinley Wangdi			
	CIE - Professor Malcolm Jones			
	CIF – Ms Mary Lorraine Mationg			
	CIG - Professor Gail Williams			
	CIH - Doctor Somphou Sayasone			
	CII – Doctor Virak Khieu			
	CIJ - Associate Professor Megumi Sato			
2027707	CIA - Professor Rachel Thomson	Nontuberculous mycobacterial (NTM) infections	University of Queensland	\$721,435.40
	CIB - Doctor Rebecca Prevots	associated with climate change and major		
	CIC – Professor Kozo Morimoto	weather events: enhancing surveillance and		
	CID – Doctor Surakameth Mahasirimongko	mitigation strategies.		
	CIE – Doctor Sokleaph Cheng			
	CIF - Associate Professor Jianhua Guo			
			TOTAL	\$2,968,124.25