About NHMRC Awards

NHMRC Research Excellence Awards

The following Research Excellence Awards are awarded annually following competitive peer-review processes:

NHMRC Marshall and Warren Award

The Marshall and Warren Award recognises the best highly innovative and potentially transformative grant from among all the applications nominated for this award in each year’s Project Grants funding round by each Grant Review Panel assessing Project Grant Applications. The NHMRC Research Committee selects the award from these nominations.

The award is named after Nobel Laureates Professors Barry Marshall and Robin Warren, who were awarded the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease.

NHMRC Elizabeth Blackburn Fellowships Award

NHMRC Elizabeth Blackburn Fellowships recognise one of Australia’s Nobel Laureates, Professor Elizabeth Blackburn.

The Elizabeth Blackburn Fellowships were established to promote and foster the career development of female researchers and are awarded annually to the highest ranked female applicant in each of the biomedical, clinical, health services and public health pillars of the Research Fellowship scheme.

NHMRC Frank Fenner Early Career Fellowship Award

NHMRC’s Early Career Fellowships enable developing health and medical researchers of outstanding ability to undertake advanced training in health and medical research either in Australia or overseas.

NHMRC’s Frank Fenner Early Career Fellowship recognises Professor Fenner’s outstanding contribution to health and medical research in Australia during a distinguished career. This fellowship is awarded to Early Career Fellows, identified through the NHMRC’s highly competitive peer-review process, whose research reflects Professor Fenner’s achievements in international health.

NHMRC Gustav Nossal Award

The NHMRC Gustav Nossal award is named in honour of Sir Gustav Nossal and his pioneering work in the field of immunology. It is awarded to the highest ranked applicant of NHMRC’s Postgraduate Scholarships in the field of medical and dental research.

Other Awards

Commonwealth Health Minister’s Award for Excellence in Health and Medical Research

The Commonwealth Health Minister’s Award recognises outstanding young medical researchers for their achievements to date, and anticipates their future contributions to health and medical research. The Award is presented annually to a recipient of NHMRC Career Development Fellowships, based on assessment by a panel of peer reviewers convened by NHMRC.

NHMRC Ethics Award

The NHMRC Ethics Award recognises outstanding Australians for their contributions to high ethical standards in health and medical research. Nominees are judged on the significance of their contribution supporting high ethical standards in Australia in health and/or health and medical research, including innovation in ethical policy formulation, leadership in the formulation of ethical standards and/or services above and beyond the normal requirement of Human Research Ethics Committee or Committee membership. The award is given every 2 years.

NHMRC Outstanding Contribution Award

The NHMRC Outstanding Contribution Award recognises outstanding long-term contribution, individual commitment and support to NHMRC. The award is given every 2 years.