Research Excellence awards

NHMRC Research Excellence Awards winners with NHMRC CEO Professor Anne Kelso and Chair of the NHMRC Council Professor Bruce Robinson

Photo credit: Irene Dowdy

The outstanding achievements of 17 of Australia’s most talented health and medical researchers were celebrated at our annual Research Excellence Awards in Canberra.

NHMRC’s Research Excellence Award winners have all demonstrated exceptional achievement in their chosen research fields.  This research will deliver real benefits through the prevention and treatments of disease in Australia and beyond.

The winners were assessed by their peers as meeting the highest national and international standards for their research. They represent the top 17 applicants from more than 6,000 funding applications NHMRC received in 2015.  The awards are presented to the top-ranked applicants across NHMRC’s funding schemes.