The NHMRC Audit and Risk Committee provides independent assurance to the Chief Executive Officer on NHMRC’s financial and performance reporting responsibilities, risk oversight and management, and system of internal controls.

The Committee is established under section 45 of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 and in accordance with section 17 (Audit Committees for Commonwealth Entities) of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Rule 2014 (PGPA Rule).  

Functions of Audit and Risk Committee

In accordance with the PGPA Rule, the Committee’s functions include reviewing the appropriateness of NHMRC’s: 

  • financial reporting—annual financial statements, financial record keeping and processes
  • performance reporting—systems and procedures for assessing, monitoring and reporting on achievement of the entity’s performance
  • system of risk oversight and management—enterprise risk management and fraud control activities
  • system of internal control—internal control, security compliance and policy and legislation compliance for the entity.


Members of the NHMRC Audit and Risk Committee are as follows:

  • Ms Gayle Ginnane (Chair)
  • Prof Matthew Gillespie AM 
  • Mr Geoff Knuckey 
  • Professor Anthony Lawler 
  • Professor Eleanor Milligan


For further information regarding the NHMRC Audit and Risk Committee, please contact the secretariat team at


File type
0.18 MB
pdf / 0.18 MB Download