Research Excellence Awards celebrate Australia’s strength in health and medical research

Summary media release information

13 July 2016
Media Release
Contact for further information: 

NHMRC Media Team
M: 0422 008 512

The outstanding achievements of 17 of Australia’s most talented health and medical researchers will be celebrated at the National Health and Medical Research Council’s (NHMRC) annual Research Excellence Awards in Canberra tonight.

Now celebrating their tenth year, these awards recognise outstanding performance and excellence in health and medical research and innovation.

NHMRC CEO Professor Anne Kelso said these awards are an opportunity for the health and medical research community to come together to recognise each other’s achievements.

“One of the most enjoyable parts of my role as CEO is the opportunity to acknowledge some of the outstanding contributions of Australian researchers.

“Of all human endeavours, health and medical research has some of the greatest potential to improve the quality of human life. The current era is one of unparalleled promise in our quest to understand, prevent, manage and cure previously intractable diseases.

“Our Research Excellence Awards winners have all demonstrated exceptional achievement in their chosen research fields and I am struck by the quality and diversity of research they are undertaking with support from NHMRC.

“This research will deliver real benefits through the prevention and treatment of disease in Australia and beyond. 

“Congratulations to each of our winners on their award. I wish them all the best in their research and I look forward to seeing the outcomes in the years ahead,” Professor Kelso said.

The winners were assessed by their peers as meeting the highest national and international standards for their research. They represent the top 17 applicants from more than 6,000 funding applications NHMRC received in 2015.

NHMRC’s Research Excellence Awards are presented to the top-ranked applicants across NHMRC’s funding schemes.  It includes special award categories such as the Marshall and Warren Award, which acknowledges the most highly innovative and potentially transformative research project.

A list of Research Excellence Award recipients is included in the attached media release. 

Media contact:  NHMRC Media Team   M: 0422 008 512 E: