Evolutions in Peer Review Symposium

Event details

Date and time: 
Wednesday, 20 February 2013 - 9:30am to Thursday, 21 February 2013 - 1:00pm

NHMRC leads Australia’s health and medical research effort. It has also built Australia’s reputation for high-quality and relevant research and developed Australia’s outstanding health and medical research workforce.

It has achieved this through its research strategy of creating knowledge, building research capacity and translating knowledge, while targeting research in areas of need. The funding provided by NHMRC is decided on the basis of rigorous peer review and open competition in a cost-effective framework.

NHMRC is currently considering the principles that underlie peer review, and developing a proposal for achieving high-quality, streamlined project grant peer review.

National and international health research organisations are participating in the Symposium and have been invited to share their views on NHMRC's proprosals. In addition, we have also invited stakeholder groups who apply for grants in health and medical research, experts in peer review, and policy makers who influence research funding to contribute to this symposium.

Program and Event Summary

Discussion Paper


Public Consultation on the NHMRC Draft Principles of Peer Review

NHMRC conducted a public consultation on Draft Principles of Peer Review in January 2013. The Draft Principles were developed to provide assurance to government, the research and broader community and inform all our processes. More information, including copies of public submissions, is available from the NHMRC Public Consultation website.

Photos from the event

Professor Kathryn North

Professor Warwick Anderson

Dr Clive Morris

Dr Jane Aubin

Dr Richard Nakamura

Dr Anne-Marie Coriat

Dr Vernon Choy

Professor Aidan Byrne

Ms Carol Bennett

Dr Don Russell

Professor Melissa Little

Professor Amanda Thrift

Professor Nicholas Graves

Professor Herb Marsh

Professor Mikael Fogelholm

Dr Philip Campbell

Dr Ann Gregory

Professor Frank Gannon

Professor Alex Brown

Dr Paul Jackson

Dr Akiko Ono

Ms Claire Riglar

Dr Roger Yazbek

Ms Belinda Robinson

Professor Moira Clay

Professor Doug Hilton

Professor Bob Williamson

Associate Professor Heather Yeatman

Mr Neville Stevens

Professor Jane Gunn