Former members

The former WQAC consisted of the following members and terms of reference.

The WQAC Membership (2013 – 2015)

The previous WQAC consisted of following Chair and members:

  • Dr David Cunliffe PSM (Chair), SA Health (South Australia)
  • Mr Philip Callan, Kodiak Consulting Pty Ltd
  • Adjunct A/Professor Sophie Dwyer PSM, Department of Health (Queensland)
  • Adjunct A/Professor Andrew Humpage, South Australian Water Corporation
  • Dr Stuart Khan, The University of New South Wales
  • A/Professor Frederic Leusch, Griffith University and University of Queensland
  • Mr Adam Lovell, Water Services Association of Australia
  • Professor Michael Moore, The University of Queensland
  • Mr David Sheehan, Coliban Water
  • Professor Wayne Smith, New South Wales Ministry of Health
  • Ms Carolyn Stanford (Consumer Representative), Stanford Marketing
  • Mr Richard Walker, Water Corporation, Western Australia
  • Dr Chris Hepplewhite (Observer), Department of the Environment

The previous Terms of Reference  

Drinking water quality aligns with objectives 1 and 2 in the NHMRC 2010-2012 Strategic Plan and remains an important issue requiring a specialist committee to provide technical advice and expertise to the NHMRC.

The Water Quality Advisory Committee will:

  1. Continue to guide and provide expert advice on the rolling review of the ADWG, focusing on the public health aspects of water quality and priority issues identified by the NHMRC.
  2. Provide rapid scientific and technical advice to the CEO of the NHMRC on current and emerging health issues relating to water quality in Australia, as required.
  3. Provide advice on the translation of research findings into national health related water quality policy and practice initiatives.
  4. Identify evidence gaps in NHMRC water quality guidelines, and advise on the research needs relating to water quality and health.

Appointments to this Committee commenced on 1 February 2013 and conclude on 31 December 2015.