Human Genetics Advisory Committee (HGAC)

The Human Genetics Advisory Committee (HGAC) was established to provide on-going advice on high-level technical and strategic issues in human genetics, and on the social, ethical and legal implications of human genetics and related technologies, to the CEO and Council of NHMRC. HGAC also provided national leadership in responding to new developments in these technologies. The functions of HGAC was gazetted by the Minister for Health on 25 March 2009.

Membership 2012-2015 Triennium

The composition of HGAC was not defined under the NHMRC Act. HGAC had 17 members for the 2012-15 triennium. The membership included persons with expertise in human genetics; community representation; privacy, discrimination and health law; data management and information security; science communication; and the health needs of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.

A member of the Australian Health Ethics Committee (AHEC) also sat on HGAC - a requirement under the NHMRC Act.

  • Professor Robyn Ward, Chair
  • Professor Christopher Goodnow
  • Ms Mary Murnane PSM
  • Professor Ngiare Brown
  • Professor Leslie Burnett
  • Professor John Christodoulou AM
  • Mrs Dianne Petrie OAM
  • Professor Emma Whitelaw
  • Professor Margaret Otlowski
  • Professor Jim Bishop AO
  • Associate Professor Clara Gaff
  • Professor Andrew Sinclair
  • Dr Vanessa Tyrrell
  • Professor Ingrid Winship
  • Professor David Mackey
  • Mrs Lesley Murphy