Health Care Committee (HCC)

The Health Care Committee (HCC) was established to provide advice to the CEO and Council of NHMRC on a range of clinical matters in hospital and primary care settings. This included the identification of gaps in evidence uptake in clinical practice, the development and implementation of clinical practice guidelines and other forms of evidence based clinical advice, and the quality and safety of health care.  The functions of HCC was gazetted by the Minister for Health on 28 March 2012.

Membership 2012-2015 Triennium

The composition of HCC was not defined under the NHMRC Act. HCC had 18 members for the 2012-15 triennium, including persons with backgrounds in evidence-based health care; consumer advocacy; nursing; clinical research; Indigenous health; and health economics.

A member of the Australian Health Ethics Committee (AHEC) also sat on HCC - a requirement of the NHMRC Act.

  • Professor Claire Wainwright, Chair
  • Professor Chris Baggoley AO
  • Professor Debra Rickwood
  • Mrs Debra Cerasa
  • Professor Graham Mann
  • Professor Robyn Norton
  • Professor Maree Teesson
  • Dr Helen Zorbas
  • Professor Chris Del Mar
  • Professor John Wakerman
  • Professor Guy Maddern
  • Professor Sally Green
  • Associate Professor Duncan Mortimer
  • Mr Demos Krouskos
  • Professor Helena Teede
  • Professor Graeme Hankey
  • Dr Tamara MacKean