13 March 2020

The annual National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Research Excellence Awards.

Back row (left to right): Prof Erica Wood, Prof Naresh Kumar (representing Prof Mark Willcox), Prof Glenda Halliday, A/Prof James St John, A/Prof Eric Chow, Dr Phillippa Taberlay
Front Row (left to right): Prof Stuart Tangye, Prof Johanna Westbrook, Prof Bruce Robinson, Prof Anne Kelso, Prof Jo Salmon, Dr Olivia Smibert, A/Prof Jaquelyne Hughes

The outstanding achievements of 13 of Australia’s most talented health and medical researchers were celebrated in Canberra. 

Research Excellence Awards are awarded each year to top-ranked researchers and teams following peer review of applications to NHMRC’s highly competitive grant schemes.

These winners have all demonstrated exceptional achievement in their chosen research fields. 

2019 was the first year of NHMRC’s re-shaped funding program, designed to encourage innovative research and to strengthen support for high-performing researchers at every career stage.

This year also sees the introduction of two new awards, the NHMRC Fiona Stanley Synergy Grant Award and the NHMRC Sandra Eades Investigator Grant Award.

All 13 recipients have received funding from NHMRC, contributing to better health outcomes for all Australians.

Congratulations again to all the awardees!

Read more about the awards and winners.

Featured image Credit
Photo supplied by: Irene Dowdy