Professor Anne Kelso AO
CEO, National Health and Medical Research Council
8 June 2018

Tonight I had the privilege to present Dr Julian Elliott from Monash University’s Department of Epidemiology and Preventative Medicine with the annual Commonwealth Health Minister’s Award for Excellence in Health and Medical Research for 2017.

This prestigious award recognises outstanding individual achievement by a mid-career Australian researcher and it was an honour to give Dr Elliott this award at the Medical Research Week Dinner hosted by the Australian Society for Medical Research in Melbourne.
Dr Elliott is an outstanding researcher in the field of HIV research and health data systems for translation and impact.

He is a HIV specialist developing and evaluating several new data systems, including the use of citizen science— where members of the public can contribute to research and machine learning to expedite the outcomes of research into improved, evidence-based health care.

His vision for the next four years is to use these systems to improve the translation of health research into practice and policy for the benefit of people with HIV and our society at large.

Together with the award, Dr Elliott receives a $50,000 grant that will help his team to further their research.

The research that’s being done today by Dr Elliott—and by all of our incredible scientists—will improve the health of all Australians.

As a nation, it’s important we continue to recognise the value of research and the value of our researchers. The Australian Government will continue to fund and support medical research and technology to not only ensure that our first class researchers remain here in Australia, but so that we can continue to function and prosper as a world leader in health innovation.

Since 2000 and based on independent expert review, the Commonwealth Health Minister’s Award for Excellence in Health and Medical Research is awarded to the top-ranked NHMRC Career Development Fellowship recipient. Career Development Fellowships are highly competitive four-year fellowships that support the most outstanding early- to mid-career health and medical researchers.