Professor Anne Kelso AO
CEO, National Health and Medical Research Council
14 March 2019

Twenty-three of Australia’s most outstanding researchers have been honoured at the National Health and Medical Research Council’s (NHMRC) annual Research Excellence Awards dinner last night in Canberra. 

Each year, NHMRC recognises excellence in the health and medical research sector by celebrating individual achievements, leadership and the exceptional contributions of Australian researchers to their fields of research.

The 2019 event also includes NHMRC’s Biennial Awards. “The Biennial Awards acknowledge outstanding contributions to NHMRC, leadership in research ethics, and the aesthetic beauty of science through the Science to Art Award for an image produced through NHMRC-funded research.” said NHMRC CEO, Professor Anne Kelso AO.

“This year also sees the introduction of the Consumer Engagement Award to recognise long-term contribution and commitment to representing consumer and community needs in health and medical research.”

The inaugural recipient of this award is Dr Michelle Banfield from the Centre for Mental Health Research at The Australian National University. The award recognises Dr Banfield’s leadership in the development of best practice in consumer and community involvement in research.

Through her research drawing on the expertise of mental health consumers, her work has directly influenced how mental health services are delivered within the community.

In addition to the Biennial Awards, 20 Research Excellence Awards were announced. These awards go to the researchers whose grant applications were ranked highest by their peers during NHMRC’s highly competitive peer review process.

Among those honoured were Dr Steven Wise who received the Marshall and Warren Award. The Marshall and Warren Award recognises the most innovative research project that could change the way an illness or disease is diagnosed, treated or prevented.

Dr Wise is a bioengineer at The Heart Research Institute and Clinical Senior Lecturer at the Central Clinical School of the University of Sydney.
Originally trained as a chemist, Dr Wise has spent a decade working in multidisciplinary research developing improved implantable vascular devices and tissue mimicking biomaterials.

“My research has a strong focus on the interaction of engineering and vascular biology, developing materials that are compatible with blood and regulate endothelial and smooth muscle cells.”

“I love coming to work every day. My research is constantly geared towards making a clinical difference, so every experiment brings us closer to that goal.”

“These awards are an opportunity to celebrate the extraordinary quality of health and medical research in Australia today. I congratulate each of you and thank you for your contribution to the future health of our community.” said Professor Kelso.

For the full list of awardees, please visit NHMRC’s website.

NHMRC Media Team
M: 0422 008 512


File type