Skip to content Skip to global navigation Skip to main navigation Skip to sub navigation Skip to search

Research Committee

The Research Committee (RC) covers the spectrum of health and medical research, including public health. It awards grants on the basis of scientific quality as judged by peer-review across the entire spectrum of health, medical and public health research. It also provides research support through a variety of mechanisms, including support for individual research projects, broad programs of research, training awards and fellowships and special research units.


The functions of RC, as set out in Section 35(2) of the NHMRC Act, are:

  • to advise and make recommendations to the Council on the application and monitoring of the Medical Research Endowment Account (MREA); and
  • to monitor the use of assistance provided from MREA; and
  • to advise the Council on matters relating to medical research and public health research, including the quality and scope of such research in Australia; and
  • such other functions as the Minister from time to time determines in writing after consulting the CEO; and
  • any other functions conferred on the Committee by the NHMRC Act, the regulations or any other law.


RC comprises 17 individuals (including the Chair). The members all have demonstrated leadership and extensive experience in various fields of health and medical research. A member of AHEC also sits on RC - this is a requirement of the NHMRC Act.

Update on Research Committee Activities

Research Committee members

Professor Kathryn North AM, Chair
Ms Rebecca Davies
Professor Simon Foote
Professor Caroline Homer
Professor Louisa Jorm
Professor Philip Mitchell AM
Professor Alex Brown
Professor Melissa Little
Professor John McGrath AM
Professor Warren Alexander
Professor Ross Coppel
Professor Jane Gunn
Professor Amanda Thrift
Professor Robert Norman AO
Professor Lin Fritschi
Dr Nikolajs (Nik) Zeps

Contact NHMRC Research Committee

Postal address

Research Committee Secretariat
GPO Box 1421
Canberra ACT 2601

Email address


(02) 6217 9000


Page last updated on 6 January 2015