Skip to content Skip to global navigation Skip to main navigation Skip to sub navigation Skip to search

NHMRC Committees

The Council and Principal Committees of the NHMRC are established under Section 20 and 35 of the National Health and Medical Research Council Act 1992 (the NHMRC Act) respectively. Under the NHMRC Act the Minister must establish Principal Committees called the Research Committee and the Australian Health Ethics Committee. The Minister may also establish such other Principal Committees the Minister thinks are necessary to assist Council to carry out any of its functions.

For the 2012-15 triennium the Minister for Health, the Hon Tanya Plibersek MP, deemed that NHMRC would require six Principal Committees (see below) in addition to Council.

Members of Council and the Principal Committees are appointed by the Minister, on a part-time basis, for a period of up to three years. Members are eligible for reappointment. The membership for Council and the Principal Committees for the 2012-15 triennium is a mixture of new members and members that have previously served NHMRC.

The Chair of each Principal Committee, other than the Embryo Research Licensing Committee, must be a member of Council [Sections 35(6) and 35(9) of the NHMRC Act].

2015-2018 Triennium – Nominations for NHMRC Council and Principal Committees

The Australian Government Department of Health and the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) are seeking expressions of interest from suitably qualified persons for appointment to the Council of the NHMRC and its Principal Committees for the 2015-2018 triennium commencing 1 July 2015. Possible candidates should be exceptional leaders in their sector who could advise the Government on health and medical research.

Nominees should have demonstrated extensive knowledge and experience of health and medical research in Australia and be recognised as a leader in their field.

Expressions of interest must be submitted using the following template: 

Applications and enquires should be directed to by COB 12 December 2014.

Principal Committees

Principal committees are appointed under section 41(1) of the NHMRC Act.

The functions of the Principal Committees were published in the Commonwealth Gazette of 28 March 2012. 

Expert Advisory Committees

NHMRC also retains expert advisory committees to advise on particular issues. NHMRC has two Expert Committees for the 2012-15 Triennium:

Other Committees and Groups

In addition to the Committees listed above, a number of working committees and reference groups exist to advise NHMRC on issues that arise from time to time. These include:

Committee Member’s responsibilities for the disclosure of interests

Appointees to Council and Committees of NHMRC are required to disclose their interests in line with the Policy on the Disclosure of Interests Requirements for Prospective and Appointed NHMRC Committee Members. This policy reflects the disclosure of interest requirements in section 42A of the NHMRC Act and instructions issued under sections 16A and 16B of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Rule 2014 (made under subsection 29(2) of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (PGPA Act)).

Committee Centre

The NHMRC Committee centre allows registered users to log in and download meeting papers. 

Previous Committees and Advisory Groups

Page last updated on 13 May 2015